top of page

Formula Student Bizkaia is constituted by a group of students from the Faculty of Engineering of Bilbao, belonging to the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU).

Faculty advisors

Javier Corral

Mikel Díez

Charles Pinto

Asier Zubizarreta

The Faculty Advisor is expected to accompany the team to the competition and will be considered by competition officials to be the official university representative. They also may advise their team on general engineering and engineering project management theory.

Javier Corral.png
Asier Zubizarreta.png

Team Leader 

The team leader is the person who provides direction, instructions and guidance to the team, for the purpose of achieving a certain goal. He also works with the technical managers and the team sponsors to obtain the required resources to support  team's activities.

Asier Beascoechea

Team Leader

Team Leader

Technical Managers

The team needs a number of different managers with various skill sets. Technical managers lead technological development activities. They tend to possess a high degree of expertise in a given technical area, so that they must be able to lead a team developing that code.

Denis García

Technical Manager

Borja Olmos

Technical Manager

Ainhoa Menéndez

Financial Manager

Olatz Larrieta
Organization Manager

technical managers
Denis Garcia.jpg
Borja Olmos.jpg
Olatz Larrieta.jpg

Aerodynamics group

Amaia Bermejo

Aerodynamics Manager

Aerodynamics group is responsible for the design, calculus and manufacture of all aerodynamic parts of the vehicle. They develop the  front and rear wing, including different pieces as the diffuser, undertray the difuser and the sidepods. In adition, they are responsible for the cooling system of the powertrain. One of the main objectives of the group is to improve the performance of the car  achieving an optimun lift/drag ratio. They are continously innovating with the designs, manufacturing techniques and new materials implementation.

Mikel San Segundo

John Ciarrusta

Iker Raigoso

Ibai Ojeda

Amaia Bermejo

Amaia BermejoP.jpg
Mikel San Segundo.JPG
John Ciarrusta.JPG
Iker Raigoso.JPG
Ibai Ojeda.png

Chassis group

Chassis  group is responsible for the design, calculus and manufacture of structural parts of the vehicle. They develop the elements as the monocoque. Moreover they also develop different pieces as the seat, anti-roll arches, headrest or nose. One of the main objectives of every year is reducing weight keeping the pilot safe and conformtable  and innovating with the designs and materials used.

Alex Torres

Chassis Manager

Mikel Celorrio

Erik Ramírez

Iker Varela

Alejandro Torres.jpg
Mikel Celorrio.JPG
Iker Varela.JPG
Ruben Castaño.jpg

Rubén Castaño

Eneko Corrales.jpg

Eneko Corrales

Jon Lacunza.jpg

Unsprung mass

Dynamics group is in charge of vehicle dynamics and the design, manufacture and maintain mechanical assemblies that make up the unsprung mass of the vehicle: corners and suspension. It also handles the steering assembly and braking system that includes parts of corners and the floorboard.

Jon Lakunza 

Unsprung mass Manager

Alvaro Feijoó.jpg
Bruno Gorostiaga.jpg
Ander Ramos.jpg

Álvaro Feijóo

Bruno Gorostiaga

Sergio Montes

Ander Ramos

Josu Legaz

Iulian Puscasu

Iulian Puscasu.jpg
Josu Legaz.jpg

Control and Telemetry group

Control and telemetry group is in charge of low voltage systems of the vehicle. They are responsible for the design and creation of PCBs, the software implemented in them and telemetry. Its function is to gather information from the sensors distributed throughout the car and manage them in the electrical control unit (ECU), with the aim of sending signals to the different parts of the car, from the floorboard through the dashboard to the rear module where the motors and inverters are located.

Sabin Zarrandikoetxea

Control & Telemetry manager

Markel Sesar

Aner Torre

Jon Ander Martín

Leire Benito

Kenar Zabala

Markel Sesar.jpg
Aner Torre.JPG
Jon Ander Martin.JPG
Leire Benito.JPG


Organization group despite not being related to the design and technical production of the vehicle has an important role in the team. It is responsible for managing communication and the proper operation of the team in terms of workload distribution and organization of time.

Olatz Larrieta

Organization Manager

Ainhoa Menéndez 

Financial Manager

Iñigo Orbegozo

Jon Urresti

Kerman Gorroño

Jon Urresti.jpg
Olatz Larrieta.jpg

Powertrain group

Mikel Basaras

Powertrain Manager

Powertrain group is responsible for the high voltage traction system: from the accumulator (batteries system) to the motors including inverters. Its aim is to develop a strong, reliable and powerful tractive system and for this reason is in charge of the design, validation, construction and development of the assembly.

Furthermore, its aim is also to transmit the power generated in the motors to the wheels of the car. This group is in charge of mainshafts, epicyclics, bearings and all supports and anchoring systems of these components to the monocoque

Nerea Marrodán

Ivan Cadarso

Jon Loinaz

Xabi Arauzo

Mikel Basaras.jpg
Asier Celorrio.jpg

Asier Celorrio

Powertrain Manager

Ivan Cadarso.jpg
Jon Loinaz.jpg
Xabi Arauzo.jpg
Borja Hernando.jpg

Borja Hernando


bottom of page