Formula Student Bizkaia is constituted by a group of students from the Faculty of Engineering of Bilbao, belonging to the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU).


Faculty Advisors

Javier Corral

Mikel Díez

Charles Pinto

Asier Zubizarreta

The Faculty Advisor is expected to accompany the team to the competition and will be considered by competition officials to be the official university representative. They also may advise their team on general engineering and engineering project management theory.


Borja Díez

Team Leader


Team Leader 

The team leader is the person who provides direction, instructions and guidance to the team, for the purpose of achieving a certain goal. He also works with the technical managers and the team sponsors to obtain the required resources to support  team's activities.

Team Managers


The team needs a number of different managers with various skill sets. Technical managers lead technological development activities. They tend to possess a high degree of expertise in a given technical area, so that they must be able to lead a team developing that code.

Mario Rodríguez

Technical Manager

​Ander Gómez

Technical Manager


Eric Parra

Technical Manager


Imanol Díaz

Financial Manager


Josu Presilla

Technical Manager

Aerodynamics group

Aerodynamics group is responsible for the design, calculus and manufacture of all aerodynamic parts of the vehicle. They develop the  front and rear wing, including different pieces as the diffuser, undertray the difuser and the sidepods. In adition, they are responsible for the cooling system of the powertrain. One of the main objectives of the group is to improve the performance of the car  achieving an optimun lift/drag ratio. They are continously innovating with the designs, manufacturing techniques and new materials implementation.

Iker Castellano

Aerodynamics Manager

Gonzalo Fernández de Castro


Jorge Orrite de Alba


Adriana Rodríguez


Unai Sordo

Alex Alzola.jpg

Alex Alzola


Asier Vergara

Chassis Manager

Grupo chasis

Chassis  group is responsible for the design, calculus and manufacture of structural parts of the vehicle. They develop the elements as the monocoque. Moreover they also develop different pieces as the seat, anti-roll arches, headrest or nose. One of the main objectives of every year is reducing weight keeping the pilot safe and conformtable  and innovating with the designs and materials used.

Álvaro González


Ainhoa Franco

Kerman Gorroño


Jon Turrillo

Xabier Rojo 

Imanol Guturbay.jpg

Imanol Gurtubay


Lander Angulo


Asier Aurre


Dynamics group

Dynamics group is in charge of vehicle dynamics and the design, manufacture and maintain mechanical assemblies that make up the unsprung mass of the vehicle: corners and suspension. It also handles the steering assembly and braking system that includes parts of corners and the floorboard.

Daniel Pangua

Dynamics Manager


Ander Igual 


Fernando Bidea


Alex Cabello


Luka Aldalur


Martín Zaballa


Jon Serna

Electronics Manager

Elecronics group

Electronics group is in charge of low voltage systems of the vehicle. They are responsible for the design and creation of PCBs, the software implemented in them and telemetry. Its function is to gather information from the sensors distributed throughout the car and manage them in the electrical control unit (ECU), with the aim of sending signals to the different parts of the car, from the floorboard through the dashboard to the rear module where the motors and inverters are located.

Egoitz Andrés


 Aritz Arroita


Alejandro Moreno

Xabier Echániz


David Ortega

Abraham Elcorobarrutia


Organization group

Organization group despite not being related to the design and technical production of the vehicle has an important role in the team. It is responsible for managing communication and the proper operation of the team in terms of workload distribution and organization of time.

Ainhoa Ye

Organization Manager

Sofía Artola

Asier Celorrio.jpg

Asier Celorrio


Paula San Pelayo


Javier Trueba


Asier Bilbao

Powertrain Manager

Powertrain group

Powertrain group is responsible for the high voltage traction system: from the accumulator (batteries system) to the motors including inverters. Its aim is to develop a strong, reliable and powerful tractive system and for this reason is in charge of the design, validation, construction and development of the assembly.

Furthermore, its aim is also to transmit the power generated in the motors to the wheels of the car. This group is in charge of mainshafts, epicyclics, bearings and all supports and anchoring systems of these components to the monocoque

Martin López

Juan Miguel Martinez.jpg

Ricardo Maté

Juan Nolasco.jpg

Miguel Vázquez


Javier Urquijo

Markel Rekagorri.jpg

Juan Miguel Martinez

Juan Nolasco

Markel Rekagorri

Javier Urquijo


Mónica García

Simulation Manager

Simulation group

Simulation is responsible of maximizing the potential of the car. and of modeling, analyzing and technological development of the vehicle. Many of the designs are based on the mathematical and theoretical studies of this group, and at the same time serve as a starting point to create the complex control algorithms that govern the car and improve its dynamics and behavior.

Aitor Nieto

Iker Pacho.jpg

Iker Pacho

Juan Vargas.jpg

Juan Vargas

Guillermo García